The Great Debate

swineflu

Someone once said the stupidest people are the ones on the fence.   I ran into one of those yesterday through Facebook.  She’d posted a question about the H1N1 flu shot in her status, wondering whether she should get it and a mutual friend of ours had responded with an emphatic NO and gave reasons that were based on word of mouth statements and partial truths.

Incensed that someone would advise a woman with a young child, as my facebook friend is, to NOT get a flu shot this year, I left a link to this Globe and Mail article and said “Please get a flu shot!”

Of course I should have realized an article entitled “Refusing to get vaccinated is selfish” would have been counterproductive, but it echoed my sentiments so succinctly.  I guess I was hoping she would look past the title and read the article.

Nope.  My comment was deleted.

Luckily, the majority of comment after mine also suggested she get the shot, so if she’s looking for a popular opinion it’s mine but the whole incident made me think about how politicized this silly little flu shot has become.  I don’t understand why anyone would refuse to get vaccinated.  The government isn’t out to get you.  They might want your taxes, but they don’t want to KILL YOU.  Believing otherwise would imply that we live in a fascist state that has zero regard for public interest and is willing to murder its citizens.

Last time I checked, that’s not the country that I live in.

Image via Cute Overload

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “The Great Debate

  1. Alex October 28, 2009 at 2:15 pm Reply

    Word.

  2. Mr. Apron November 10, 2009 at 8:32 pm Reply

    I think people who delete comments suck.

    What is this: Mao-Lovin’ China?

    Please.

    (P.S.– Don’t delete my comment!)

    • Olga November 10, 2009 at 8:54 pm Reply

      I know! What’s wrong with my opinion anyway? Ah well, hello Apron. Nice to see you’ve found me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

