Bon Voyage

I have news! It’s still too exhilarating for me to even think about it, but I’m going to France!

Let me be honest: I’ve never dreamed of France.  In my fantasies of Europe, France has never topped the list, yet here I am, plane ticket booked, and thoughts adrift in a sea of plans.  So why am I even bothering?

Late on New Year’s Day, I contemplated the new year and what it held in store. I knew I wanted to take a trip overseas this year because it’s long overdue—my last trip to Central America was in 2007! Initially I thought to go back to Italy, rent an apartment in Florence and live the Italian life for a few weeks before returning to the mundane, but something possessed me to Google specific keywords that I cannot remember anymore. These words brought me to a website for a little music school in England offering a jazz course in France in August.

I knew right away I wanted to go to it.

I emailed the organizers right away and received a response the very next day. Since then, I’ve made my deposit for my spot and bought my plane ticket. This is really happening.  I will be studying music in the French countryside for a full week!

I don’t really know what to expect. I haven’t studied with other musicians since I was in high school, and I don’t even know if that counts. It was so long ago and choir was a bit of a joke for most of the students who took it, an easy mark to pass the semester with. So I’m nervous, of course, but I have several months ahead of me before I get there, and who knows what changes will happen during that time.

This Sunday I am meeting a new vocal teacher who sounds good on paper. Even if it doesn’t work out, this is certainly not the end of the road for me.

I feel like I took a really important step last year by training with Anne Bonsignore. Not only did I gain a confidence in my own voice, but it has led to so much more. I keep finding these avenues and I’m no longer afraid to stray down them. Instead, I’m charging ahead, with a smile on my face and a fire in my belly.

Tagged: , ,

5 thoughts on “Bon Voyage

  1. Alex January 15, 2010 at 6:56 pm Reply

    WOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

  2. the best sis on earth January 15, 2010 at 8:39 pm Reply

    Wooo hooo, you are back!!!!
    I missed your blogging, as you know.
    And I’m very excited for your upcoming trip.
    Hugs!

  3. isimma January 19, 2010 at 3:57 pm Reply

    Amazing news! This will be such a great trip for you. Will you be singing en francais?

    • Olga January 19, 2010 at 4:37 pm Reply

      Nope, I’ll be singing in English. One step at a time. 🙂

  4. […] I have mentioned, I’m traveling to France in August for a little over two weeks. This is my first vacation in two […]

Leave a Reply

