My One Indiscretion

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m sure, I’ve had my wisdom teeth out. They hurt. Well, one side hurts. The other one is healing juuuuust fine.

Today, sickened by the sight of this yellow welt growing on my cheek, I stayed home to recuperate properly. In the process, I have done quite a bit of work on the Blog. Can’t say that that’s a bad thing!

At the moment, I am listening to a song that I heard for the first time last night and made my heart swing. This is a song that makes me want to start singing again, stitches and sore jaw bedamned!

Autumn in Rome,
memories like embers glow
When I seem to hear, “Arrivederci, dear.”

It took me awhile, but I found a possible lead in finding me this song. Tony Bennett sang Autumn in Rome on a 1963 album, which might be sitting as a score in the Toronto Reference Library.

Wait, don’t fall asleep! I swear it’s a beautiful song, but don’t take the Tony Bennett version for gospel. Jennifer Jones introduced it to me before Stazione Termini, a film starring her and Montgomery Clift as two desperate lovers who want to love one another but found obstacles, both real and immaterial in the way.

See, now when you put it that way….

Perhaps I’ll learn how to sing it.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

