I Love

I’m a little late to this party, but it takes me awhile sometimes. Lusty Reader had to remind me to look into my RSS reader and rekindle my love for Ree, the Pioneer Woman.

In honour of this month of love, I am writing down my list of things that I love. I think it’s important to remember them. Too often we get bogged down by the things that keep us down and we don’t really reflect on the stuff that keeps us up!

Case in point, this morning I had a wicked-bad case of the Mondays. And it’s Thursday.

I admitted as much to Sister Friend and she wrote back with a looooong list of things I love but had forgotten about.

And I instantly felt better. Okay it could have also been the cup of coffee I’d just poured as well, but that’s not the point—the point is I was well on my way to feeling like myself again, and all it took was a gentle reminder: you are loved.

Photo by Sister Friend

So here’s what I love, in no particular order:

Sister Friend.

Coffee.

Leather boots.

France.

Almay Intense i-Color Black Pearl eyeliner.

Almay Intense i-Color Purple Amethyst eyeliner.

Boo-Boo’s silly jokes.

Leah’s biting wit.

French fries.

Diet Coke.

Tiramisu.

Salt pigs.

Trotsky’s tail.

Blogs.

My sister’s photography.

Abandoned buildings.

Road trips.

Impromptu get-togethers.

Spanish red wine.

French red wine.

Chilean red wine.

Red wine.

Singing in my apartment.

Singing for someone.

New crushes.

That rumble in the belly when I hit the right note.

Shabby chic.

Tiffany blue.

A marriage of old and modern design.

Girlfriends.

Surprise chocolates from coworkers.

Meeting a cute boy’s gaze on the TTC.

Lady Gaga.

My parent’s unwavering support.

Optimism.

The banjo.

Twitter.

Trance.

Gold jewelry.

Silver jewelry.

Costume jewelry.

Sartorialists.

Armin Van Buuren’s A State of Trance radio show.

Toronto.

Good cheese.

Good books.

Selling books.

This list is certainly not complete. But it’s a start, and it makes me smile. So that begs the question, what do you love?

Tagged: , ,

8 thoughts on “I Love

  1. Lusty Reader February 18, 2010 at 3:10 pm Reply

    ooooh i also love french fries and costume jewelry, but what on earth is a salt pig or trotsky’s tail? and how awesome for your upcoming trip to France, can’t wait to hear about it!

  2. Alex February 19, 2010 at 9:26 am Reply

    Salt pigs! Niiiiiiice.

    • Olga February 22, 2010 at 3:22 pm Reply

      You know it! 🙂

  3. Isimma February 23, 2010 at 3:53 pm Reply

    I, too, love Trotsky’s tail. And his cute little nose.

  4. Kathy March 27, 2010 at 11:02 pm Reply

    So now I know why you said that you never stopped writing – I just stopped looking! DUH!!!! What can I say, other than I don’t think I’ll ever understand the salt pig infatuation 😉

Leave a Reply

