Things I Need for France

Or, the best laundry list ever?

Loire Valley

As I have mentioned, I’m traveling to France in August for a little over two weeks. This is my first vacation in two years so I’m very excited. What I’m not excited about is the potential for insane credit card debt cause I won’t plan the trip properly. So this year, I’m doing it a little differently. This year, I’m going in with a plan.

Well, at least a laundry list, if not a plan.

Here’s my list (anything in italics is tentative):

– Aug 6-7: Arriving in Paris, fly to Ibiza, potentially a hostel as well.

– Aug 7-8: Overnight hostel stay in Paris to sleep off Ibiza hangover.

– Aug 8-13: Jazz course at Domaine de Belair

– Aug 13-16: Hotel stay in Caen, 3 nights

– Aug 16-22: Hostel stay in Paris, 6 nights

Unlike previous trips, this one is going to be much more relaxed. As much as I would love to see everything there is to see in France, I know I don’t have the time to do it. Besides, I’d much rather spend a week in Paris living the French life than trying to squeeze in one. Last. Castle! Into a whirlwind of travel, non?

And as it stands, the trip is already going to be jampacked. I’m hitting the ground running by starting the trip off with a quick detour over to Ibiza for a night of insane dancing and cavorting in the House capital of the world. It’s been a dream of mine to go for years and years; since I don’t know when might be the next time I’ll be in the neighborhood, I figure this is as good a time as any to take the trip. Besides, I ain’t getting any younger. What if the next time I get to go will be in five years? Doesn’t Ibiza have an age limit? 😉

Once I return, it’s business time—I’ll meet my train Sunday evening and head to the Loire Valley to meet the rest of the musicians I’ll be sharing a domaine with for five nights of jazz-filled revelry. I’m very excited, but also very nervous. I’ve never studied music intensely; my sight-reading is beginner at best; I just don’t want to go there and find out that everyone thinks I’m useless!

After jazz camp (as I fondly call it) the world is my oyster—although a very inexpensive oyster. Before I return to Paris I would like to see a little more of the country, so I hope to visit one other town or city for a three night stay before heading back to the City of Lights.  Right now the potential city is Caen, but that’s a bit tentative. It’s too small to have a hostel (that I can find online) and the hotel prices are pretty standard for European cities. I’m going to look into a few other cities and towns in between Le Mans (where I will be leaving from after camp) and Paris. Suggestions are heartily encouraged!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

