Tunesday: Adele Set Fire to the Rain versus Snow Patrol Set Fire to the Third Bar

Do you ever notice lyrical similarities in songs? Uncommon phrases that pop up in songs by dissimilar (or at the very least unconnected) artists? How do they come up with the same phrase? Is it a fad phrase that has a clear origin, like “mo’ money, mo’ problems”, (thanks Puff Daddy!) or does it just sound so good that musicians slowly begin to adopt it? But what makes a song sound good? Presumably it’s a combination of both melody and lyric that creates a hit song. So it’s not just the phrase itself, but how you use it.

This ran through my head yesterday on my way to work in the morning. And I also wondered, who does it better? So it came to me that I should ask my meager little blog audience to answer that for me. I’ll strive to post an occasional Tunesday “challenge”. Today’s happens to be the very one that inspired the endeavor. Listen to the two songs below and, if you so feel inclined, comment. Who do you think took that phrase and used it better?

Adele – Set Fire to the Rain

Snow Patrol – Set Fire to the Third Bar

Tagged: , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Tunesday: Adele Set Fire to the Rain versus Snow Patrol Set Fire to the Third Bar

  1. clairesuzanne April 6, 2011 at 9:03 pm Reply

    They are both beautiful songs but I have the same questions about how trends like this start. It’s sort of the same thing when there were 4 Ashley’s in your class and how everyone was names Ava 6 years ago. How do trends like that start when every parent you talk to thought it was a totally original name.

    • Olga April 8, 2011 at 8:58 am Reply

      Hi clairesuzanne! You’re totally right…how do naming trends start? You only really notice it when you get to school, though, and there’s four Ashleys in your class.

  2. Alex April 7, 2011 at 12:30 pm Reply

    oh how i wish we had been able to get tickets to see Adele… can you imagine her voice live?!?

    • Olga April 8, 2011 at 8:59 am Reply

      Makes me wish I hadn’t missed her concert last year at Massey Hall even more. πŸ™‚

  3. Tasha April 12, 2011 at 1:56 pm Reply

    I really like both song and have them both on my playlist. But I think the Adele version has garnered more hits on my playlist. It’s just something about Adele that keeps me coming back…

  4. […] I noticed today that one of my most popular blog posts on The Punnery is this one, comparing Adele’s Set Fire to the Rain to Snow Patrol’s Set Fire to the Third Bar. […]

Leave a Reply

