Musical Funk

I’m having one of those weeks where I feel as though I can’t catch up. My apartment is in shambles. I left the sink full for days because a huge house centipede made a home in it and I haven’t done laundry in weeks now. It’s starting to get dire. I’m hoping to catch up a little tomorrow since I have the whole day to myself.

On top of that, I’ve taken on this lofty goal of auditioning at the end of the month for the Toronto Opera Repertoire’s 11/12 season. My vocal coach has been convalescing following surgery in April, so I haven’t had the will nor imperative to practice. Not that I normally do. I’m a horrible procrastinator. But last night I finally picked up the sheet music to give it another shot and I didn’t have much luck with it. I don’t have a copy of just the instrumentation, so I’ve resorted to Youtubing the songs. You think singing over top of your favourite Taylor Swift song is hard? Trying tuning out Maria Callas long enough to learn the words to “Una voce poco fa”. Not. Easy.

So yesterday I was pretty bummed out and the feeling has carried into today. I don’t normally back out of a challenge, but last night truly felt like I had bitten off much more than I can chew. How do I get over that feeling? Any suggestions on how to beat a funk?

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Musical Funk

  1. Ivana May 7, 2011 at 3:14 pm Reply

    I want to discuss this house centipede. I had one at my Y&St.C apartment. Wait, not just one. There were several. It was disgusting. I thought they were silverfish and dubbed him “Granddaddy silverfish”.
    Things are hard to kill, too. I don’t like to smush insects with my belongings, so I tried to drown him in hairspray/raid/whatever. Don’t send PETA after me.

    • Olga May 8, 2011 at 8:29 pm Reply

      I thought they were called Silverfish too. So I googled and came up with the link that I appended to the last blog entry. Apparently they’re just regular, every-day house centipedes. Fucking creepy, though.

Leave a Reply

