Think thin

Author Deanna Raybourn posted this on Facebook this afternoon, asking the following:

Not sure about the sizing. The middle looks more like an 8 and the right more like a 0-2, no?

It set off a debate about women’s clothing sizes. We all had to share what size we wear and how none of these women look like us. Sizing charts are all over the map and it drives me bonkers (as it does any woman who likes to wear, you know, clothing). What I hate most about this image is that it exists in the first place. The website it comes from is someone’s long-standing tumblr full of this type of imagery. It’s supposedly her inspiration board, but what it shows me is that she’s deeply affected by her struggle with her own physical and emotional weight.

I can’t claim to be an advocate for anything, least of all body acceptance. I get down on myself. I smoke and drink far too much and I don’t floss often enough.  I have awful chin hair and sometimes I wear heels that leave my toes feeling numb. My belly and ass could both be used to screen drive-in movies. Simultaneously!  But I still don’t think anyone should be vested enough in their own body image to post imagery like this as inspiration. Ladies, love yourselves, no matter what size you are. Even if you are trying to slim down. By all means, go for it. But still, love yourself because at the end of the day, you will truly never look as good as you do now. After all, you ain’t getting any younger!

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Think thin

  1. Dube November 17, 2011 at 6:08 pm Reply

    OK, your comment about the picture is so appropriate. The *first* thing I thought when I saw it was: “The middle girl is a size 4-6 and the one on the right is a 0-2!” Nice to know I wasn’t the only one thinking that. Good takeaway message too.

  2. Lusty Reader January 12, 2012 at 2:21 pm Reply

    havent visited here in a while but HAD to comment on this! i haven’t seen this picture before but agree that there are ALL sorts of things wrong with it 😦 sweeping generalizations and mislabled sizes aside – this is NOT inspirational.

  3. […] appearance when I was presenting things on the Punnery. And I would post things about body acceptance and bullying amongst women. I would reflect about women I admired like Nora Ephron and Tina […]

  4. The New Feminist | The Punnery March 30, 2013 at 8:32 am Reply

    […] What I despise is the manner in which women handle other women when they are angry. Because we are so emotionally motivated our words become daggers. We start to judge each other; chip away at each other’s confidence until no one is left standing, not even ourselves. I’ve done it. You’ve done it. We’ve all done it, but no one wants to talk about it. We’d rather talk about blaming rapists and asking each other how thin is too thin. […]

Leave a Reply

