Free Banksy Print-Out Jubilee Poster

I’ve mentioned my admiration and interest in the work of Banksy on the Punnery before, having seen it firsthand when he hit Toronto two years ago, so it should come as no surprise that I’m tickled that he’s created a free printable poster commemorating the Queen’s Jubilee anniversary.

Available at Pictures on Walls. Found via Quipsologies.

From the looks of it, Banksy’s been busy marking London with his own commemorations to the throne’s legacy. This isn’t the first time he’s created a piece dedicated to the monarchy either. I’m a huge fan of his work. It’s whimsical, oftentimes tragic, iconic. I’ve seen Exit Through the Gift Shop and been bewildered by the entire thing. And, as mentioned, I’ve even unwittingly witnessed his work here in Toronto!

Monarchist satire is also an old familiar friend to me. Some of my earliest memories of Queen Elizabeth happen to involve Scott Thompson from Kids in the Hall. I leave this rather disjointed but well-meaning blog post with an old Kids in the Hall skit. Happy Diamond Jubilee, Queen E.

Tagged: , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Free Banksy Print-Out Jubilee Poster

  1. Socialkenny July 9, 2012 at 8:24 pm Reply

    Wow Banksy been pretty international by making all the way to Canada.

    I just found out about him the other day on an HBO documentary about Bansky.Did you get to see that?

    • Olga July 9, 2012 at 8:31 pm Reply

      No, I’ve only seen Exit Through the Gift Shop, which was a Banksy-approved doc. Not sure what was fact and fiction, but it was an interesting film. He came to Toronto during the lead-up for the film’s release so I’m assuming he got some funding to travel to different cities and do his thing.

      • Socialkenny July 10, 2012 at 12:14 am

        Not sure if that was the documentary I seen.

        Nevertheless,it was still pretty decent(although I’m not an art fan).

      • Olga July 11, 2012 at 9:58 pm

        Not an art fan! But that’s like saying you don’t like music. You can’t name one graphic/fine artist (alive or dead) that you like?

  2. Socialkenny July 11, 2012 at 10:30 pm Reply

    Lol nope not an art fan.

    Well at least not art as in paintings.

    I love graffiti(seeing them).But I hate paintings.

Leave a Reply

