Nora Ephron

Nora Ephron was a woman that I greatly admired, one of my first inspirations. Funny because I never really watched her movies, which is what she’s best known for. What made me admire Ms Ephron was her essays. She pioneered the female essayist role, a role that has evolved now into the blogger role. In her words, I found a woman who combined her wit and intelligence to create a picture of her life that is full of warmth and laughter—something that I aspire to do with my own words. She’s had many experiences in her life and while I would say its terrible news that she passed away, I don’t think she lived an empty life. Indeed, the many obituaries and remembrances that have been posted since her passing have included fond recollections of her kindness, ingenuity, and sense of humour.

Image courtesy of Linda Nylind, eyevine / Redux via The Daily Beast

I’m going to reread her work to gain further inspiration as a writer and woman. The wonderful thing is that just because she’s dead it doesn’t mean she’s gone. Her words endure, in a way that I hope mine will one day.

“Above all, be the heroine of your life, not the victim.”

“The desire to get married is a basic and primal instinct in women. It’s followed by another basic and primal instinct: the desire to be single again.”

“So much of what I see reminds me of something I read in a book, when shouldn’t it be the other way around?”

“I don’t think any day is worth living without thinking about what you’re going to eat next at all times.”

“Oh, how I regret not having worn a bikini for the entire year I was twenty-six. If anyone young is reading this, go, right this minute, put on a bikini, and don’t take it off until you’re thirty-four.”

“[W]hen you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.”

“Never marry a man you wouldn’t want to be divorced from.”

Tagged: ,

One thought on “Nora Ephron

  1. […] things about body acceptance and bullying amongst women. I would reflect about women I admired like Nora Ephron and Tina […]

Leave a Reply

