Pinning My Heart Away

By now, we’re all aware that Pinterest is the new Facebook for people with too much time on their hands. For awhile I resisted the urge to join because I didn’t quite see the point of it. That, and there were rumours that Pinterest was modifying your pins without permission to better serve online retailers. Eventually, enough exposure got my curiosity up and I joined and, for a time, experimented with the process. I have nine boards going now. The first five were your typical kind: one for tasty recipes, one for pretty pictures, one for pretty clothes, one for pretty homes. Soon enough my interest waned. I didn’t have time to pin useless photographs of clothes I’ll never be able to afford or foreign destinations I may never see in person. This bred mild resentment within me that fueled my disinterest in participating in this market, so I stopped.

However, I didn’t close the account. And one day, I found a use for it: graphic design.

Essentially, Pinterest is an inspiration board. And what do I need inspiration for mostly? Graphic design. So, with my first modest commission, I set out looking for business cards to inspire me and I used Pinterest to document them. Since then, I’ve set up a few other inspiration boards via Pinterest. By far my favourite is my Graphic Design in the Wild board, which I’ve begun populating with interesting design work that I see while I’m out and about. Here are a few of my favourite designs that I’ve pinned recently:

 

 

 

I have rather roundabout methods of posting my images on Pinterest, the kinks of which I will eventually work out, I’m sure. My process at this point is to take the photo, edit and upload via Instagram, post it to my Tumblr account which acts as a general depository of most of my images (even if I don’t share via Facebook or Twitter it always goes up on Tumblr) and then I pin via the web when I’ve uploaded a bunch (or at least more than one.)

Do you use Pinterest? Do you find it has a purpose other than as an aggregate of ads and uncredited photos?

By the way, feel free to follow me on Pinterest if you’re there and like to use it. I’ll keep sharing my boards!

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Pinning My Heart Away

  1. Sarah Begin July 9, 2012 at 9:21 pm Reply

    I joined a while ago because I kept seeing other peoples pins showing up on facebook and I often found myself liking their images. I love finding cooking and baking inspiration photos and this seems like a good way to get them. I haven’t actually done anything with my account yet, but perhaps it’s time to start.

    • Olga July 11, 2012 at 10:00 pm Reply

      Recipes seem to the reason most people are using Pinterest at the moment. At this moment, I can’t really see the reason to keep adding them to my growing list of things to try when there are SO MANY things I already want to try in cookbooks I have at home, the latest issue of FOOD&DRINK I brought home from the LCBO, my mother’s dishes, things my friends have tried out and shared the recipe for, etc. etc. etc. πŸ™‚

      That said, I DID make bacon-maple cupcakes I found via Pinterest for Phill’s birthday. They were, to say the least, a huge hit. Men love bacon!

Leave a Reply

