Nora Ephron Book Giveaway

The nice thing about having a huge library is that occasionally you come across a book that you already have…and someone’s given you a duplicate copy of that book. That’s how I came to own two copies of Diana Gabaldon’s OUTLANDER and Nora Ephron’s I FEEL BAD ABOUT MY NECK: AND OTHER THOUGHTS ON BEING A WOMAN. Given that I waxed not-so poetically about the benefit I got out of reading that book, and how much I appreciate Nora’s sensibility, wit and wisdom, I want to share the wealth.

I’m giving away my second copy of I FEEL BAD ABOUT MY NECK on the blog. 

In order to win the book, which I can assure you is in excellent condition, please leave a comment here on the blog in response to this question: what life lesson have you recently learned a la Nora Ephron? You don’t have to be a woman to answer the question, you just need to have learned something lately that has stuck with you.

I’ll go first: I’ve found that the universe gives you more than one opportunity sometimes to fix a mistake you keep making. Keep making the same mistake and the same situation pops up. For instance, a month after I moved to Liberty Village I began to see my ex-boyfriend on the same transit route as me on the way to work. The first TWO times I saw him, I ran for the hills, head down, collar up and eyes avoiding. On the third occasion, I went right up to him and said hello. He was so surprised to see me that he cancelled his plan for the evening and we went down to a local watering hole to have a pint and a catch-up. But that’s a story for another time…

Tell me your story in the comments by Sunday, July 15 11:59 p.m. EST and you’re entered to win the book. I’ll pick a winner at random on Monday. Good luck!

Tagged: , ,

6 thoughts on “Nora Ephron Book Giveaway

  1. alex nikka July 12, 2012 at 6:08 pm Reply

    Olga! I’ve known you since birth practically! I’d love a copy of this book 🙂

    • Olga July 12, 2012 at 6:10 pm Reply

      Then follow the rules, my dear! Tell me a life lesson. I’ve learned a few through you, you know. 🙂

  2. Sonya July 13, 2012 at 11:14 am Reply

    Never do anything you wouldn’t want to explain to the paramedics!

    Loves me some Nora 😀

    • Olga July 14, 2012 at 5:20 pm Reply

      And always have fresh underwear, right? 😉

  3. Rachel July 14, 2012 at 5:16 pm Reply

    I learned never to crowd the mushrooms. Although I guess that’s more of a Julia Child thing. (I also learned how to fake a – convincing – orgasm. That was ALL her.)

    • Olga July 14, 2012 at 5:20 pm Reply

      Crowd the mushrooms in what capacity?

      Ah, God love WHEN HARRY MET SALLY. 🙂

Leave a Reply

