Weird and Interesting Projects?

Everyone has a hobby. I don’t care what anyone says, it’s true. Hobbies come in all shapes and sizes, whether they be as minute as an hour of CSI every night and maybe a little bit of fanfic late at night to tide you over.

And it can be as grandiose as a butterfly collection. A live butterfly collection.

So I say this knowing that my friends are awesome and strange and beautiful and I love them all.

When I came across this project I thought, wow.

My old partner Jorge (who played guitar for me in my jazz duo). His girlfriend (and an accomplished vocalist in her own right) Sarah Begin recently began painting a portrait of Carl Sagan. Who is Carl Sagan? Good question. I didn’t know who he was either until I wiki’d him and found out he was an astronomer. (Anyone who knows more, feel free to elaborate in the comments if you’d like.)

He’s also the first portrait subject of Ms Begin, who has never painted before in her life, but has done such an amazing job on this portrait.

Photo from Jazzy Beginnings

Kudos, darling.

I would love to know what brought this on. Sarah, if you read this, I would love to have an interview about the inspiration behind your lovely portrait.

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Weird and Interesting Projects?

  1. […] Sarah Begin will tell me otherwise. She’s agreed to answer a few questions about the portrait of Carl Sagan that she’s working on. Maybe she’ll give me her […]

Leave a Reply

