On Creativity

“It’s not the world’s fault that you want to be an artist…now get back to work.”
— Werner Hertzog, via Elizabeth Gilbert

Creativity is such an important part of being a human. It’s what fulfills us in a way that food, television, drugs and alcohol can’t. It’s the part of our humanity that craves connection with other people. We are creative because we want to share ourselves with the world, so we create things.

My sense of creativity has always been tied in with my mood. The lower I feel, the less creative I am. This summer I was in the depths of despair. Slowly I’ve been pulling myself out of that mire. Thankfully, through my efforts I’ve begun to create again.

I’m also looking at creativity in a different light these days. In the past I’ve bogged myself down with this deep dissatisfaction because I felt like I wasn’t creating enough. But lately, I’ve been noticing how I create little things. These little things, be it dinner or a blog post, all add up to larger things (a new method of cooking or a recipe tried; more knowledge shared).

Richard Florida believes that all cities need creative people. The creative class is what powers today’s economy. And I’m proud to be part of that class.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

