A work in progress

Being a freelancer is a hard gig. Actually it’s a lot of hard gigs. You’ve got to constantly hustle for your next gig. If you don’t, you could be in trouble.

Lately I’ve been thinking about the idea of going back to full-time. The reason is that I’m not making enough money as a freelancer. I haven’t been for at least six months. I began tracking my spending and have recently begun a blog about personal finance called Becoming Solvent. At BS you can take a look at my personal finance record and see what steps I’m taking to increase my income and decrease my expenses. Pretty exciting stuff, right? I think so anyway.

So how about here? Well, I’m going to put more of my attention back into turning my website into a great source of marketing information as well as a destination for people to check out my services. As you can see there’s still lots to do. I’m not satisfied with the current state of the layout, but that needs to be tinkered with over time. The services page needs to be built, as well as a portfolio.

Then there’s the matter of ye olde blog. What do I write about? I have a few ideas in the pipeline (my least favourite business term… Why the heck did I use it?)

Topics I plan to cover include: Fiverr gigs, WordPress development, marketing techniques and… hmm, well, a few other things.

This is starting to sound a little ramble-y, isn’t it? Suffice it to say, I’ve got plans for this here website. It’s been in development for some time and I even put it under the “Under Construction” page of doom a few weeks ago to avoid having to look at the eye sore that it had become. Luckily I changed that today by actually adding a header and changing the background. These are small changes, but it’s amazing to see how the little things can change your website immensely.

My brain has stopped working now so I’ll sign off with one more thing that I need to fix: the About page. Good lord, it’s still the default template About page that WordPress creates when you install it on your site. Sigh…

Signing off now.

Leave a Reply

