Spring is coming!

We’ve had a long and hard winter this year in Canada. I don’t think any part of the country can actually say it survived unscathed from the cold arm of Mother Nature. Even as I write this Newfoundland is up to its ears in the white stuff. Poor things.

Here in Toronto things are getting a little warmer, if not greener yet. I’ve begun jogging again outside as the temps climb above zero. As per usual, I’ve found interesting things along my routes. Take for instance this uprooted tree in my neighborhood. It’s probably well over a hundred years old and it’s just gone now. Kind of sad, isn’t it?

816a3ad0b9dd11e3822e12dafa26d970_8

Speaking of weird things, I came across this sign tossed in a pile of trash and couldn’t resist taking a picture of it.

toronto-beautiful

There’s something poignant about the message scrawled on an item about to get thrown into a dump, isn’t it?

And, as many Torontonians know, the venerable institution Honest Ed’s, a discount warehouse emporium with labyrinthine stairways and unusual decor is going to shut down permanently to make way for a new batch of condos in the Annex, my neighborhood. I noticed this hand-painted sign gracing one of the corners this week.

honest-eds

The end is nigh, folks. Honest Ed’s will close on December 31, 2016.

Finally, because it’s spring, or maybe because I’m feeling particularly verdant this year, I’ve been into horticulture a lot more. My orchid has been blooming since December and just recently I successfully transplanted a spider plant baby from my mom’s place into a little pot of soil in my home. It’s thriving like a bean. Alas, my green thumb isn’t perfect, though. My mom also bought me a bonsai tree recently and sadly I left it in a car trunk overnight, forgetting that it’s a delicate, tropical plant and it was still way too cold for it to be outside. Now it looks like this:

bonsai

Actually it looks worse than that now because it’s been relegated to the balcony where it’s exposed to the elements. Poor thing. I tried to resurrect it with water and tender words of hope, but it just didn’t want to spring back. I even joined a gardening forum to ask for advice and was not given much hope from them either. Oh well. I think I’m not ready for a bonsai just yet, although I do think they’re absolutely beautiful.

On the other hand, my tulips are looking very nice still. 🙂 This is what they looked like when I just bought them:

tulips

They’re almost ready to go, but I’m keeping them for just a few more days. I’m loving the fresh colours and healthy greens. They inspire me and I hope they give you hope for the new season that approaches!

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “Spring is coming!

  1. holdlifestill365 April 10, 2014 at 2:05 pm Reply

    love the tulips. i’m so cheap, every time i look at tulips at the store, i just walk right by 😦

    • admin April 15, 2014 at 12:07 pm Reply

      They cost me a grand total of $5. I walked an extra block to the fruit market that sells them cheaper.

Leave a Reply

