Happy May Day!

It’s the beginning of a new month and I’m thinking about what I want to accomplish in it. May is a good month to set some goals. Here’s what I’m thinking about:

Continuing my Spring Streak

I’ll be honest, I’ve been very lax on my spring streak the last two days. April showers finally arrived in Toronto, killing my motivation to be active. But I have 18 days left in my Spring Streak, so I need to pick up the pace again!

Pass my LLQP Certification and Provincial Exams

In March I became a training associate with a company called World Financial Group. WFG teaches financial planning concepts to middle-class individuals and families to help them build their financial wealth. I’ve learned a lot over the last two months about saving money and investing in your future. Now I’m nearly ready to become certified and start building my business as a licensed associate!

Build my Business

The appeal of WFG for me is that it’s a business that you build on your own. There’s a lot of support, but a lot of the work is on your shoulders and I have my work cut out for me! I’m already busy with activity, but I have plans as well, including setting up a seminar in my neighborhood on how money works and launching a blog called BecomeSolvent.com. It’ll focus on financial planning, personal development and I’ll probably throw in a few puns in there too.

Say “No” a little more

This week especially I’ve had a hard time saying no to things. Consequently I’ve been overbooking myself and cancelling a lot on people. I don’t like to do that. I want to be a person who keeps her word because trust is an important value. If people don’t trust you to show up for things, what’s going to happen? They won’t invite you out anymore, they won’t expect you to show up, they won’t want to hang out! So this is my pledge to be more honest when I’m making my plans. When I make plans I need to see the big picture. I need to see whether I can actually fit something into my schedule.

Spring Cleaning

This winter our apartment has turned into a cluttered mess. We’ve gained an extra desk and lost some space in the process. We’d like to paint and put up sound dampening foam in the living room because Phill is building studio space into our home. I’d like it to at least look nice. There’s a bunch of areas that need to be decluttered first before any of that can happen: closets, bookcases, drawers, even the balcony needs to be decluttered.

These are my priorities this month. They all tie into the bigger goals I have in my life: losing thirty pounds this year and becoming a full-time WFG associate and making our apartment homier.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

