A Year Ago

How do you go to Las Vegas and not hit a pool?

That’s been the question on a lot of people’s minds since I got back from the glittering Sin City a week ago.

Don’t get me wrong. It wasn’t for lack of effort. I brought my bathing suit. I bought a new cover-up and a pair of flip flops. But when you’re stuck from 8 am to 7 pm in a conference room with 26,000 other people, it’s hard to get the time to hit the water.

What kept me from the pool? I was at convention for World Financial Group.

turning-point-sign-wfg

Today is Throwback Thursday. If I may, I’d like to explore roughly a year ago what my life was like.

My father had just passed away and I was in the midst of crisis. They say that everyone grieves in a different way. My grief sent me into a tailspin of emotion that was both horrifying and difficult to get out of.

A year ago I was fragile. I had to reboot. Slowly, over time, with lots of help from family, friends and professional advice-givers, I was able to do it. In March of this year I joined WFG to begin taking control of my finances. The company teaches its associates to build and save their wealth. I knew this was something I needed to have in my life. I love being a freelancer, but I also want to live a life that my father sacrificed his comfort and stability in Poland for. He knew that coming to Canada would enable me opportunities that I would never see in Poland.  I chose WFG as my path to ensure that this would happen. It’s also a company built on helping other people. This was something I was looking for in my life, even before my father’s illness took him. The mentorship and support was just the cherry on top of everything.

Cut to this year. Convention 2014 “Turning Point” started on June 24, the first anniversary of my father’s passing. Suffice it to say, it was a turning point in my life.

The people I have met so far through WFG have been an inspiration and a great source of support. Can you say the same thing about the company you work for?

team-united-LV

Although I didn’t dip a toe in a pool in Las Vegas, I certainly didn’t waste my time while I was there. It was worth the flight and the money which, all told, wasn’t even that much. Remember, they’re teaching me to save my money, right? 😉

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

