The Universal Truth

I think I know why I like writing so much. There are an infinite number of ways you can put a sentence together. There can be more than one answer. And when I don’t like a sentence, I can just make it disappear with a stroke of my finger.

A lot of you from Facebook may have noticed that I now work in finance. As far as I’m concerned, I’m still doing the same job. The only difference is the sector. To date I have worked in fandom, nuclear power, publishing, opera, dining (both fine and fast), retail, music, fashion, and television (very briefly as an MTV intern, for 24 hours. It was total bullshit.)

So why not add finance to the mix, I thought?

But why finance? It’s such a strange and frightening beast,  it’s belly filled with numbers like children’s bones.

Dragon by Eric Scales.

Dragon by Eric Scales.

In Richard Florida’s August 2014’s article in The Atlantic’s Citylab blog, The Increasingly Bloated American Dream , he quotes Slate‘s Jordan Weissmann pondering whether Millenials will “end up as the generation that shrinks the American home back down to size—not out of desire, but necessity.” Florida, an expert on urban studies and the creative class, recommends “a shift from sprawl toward smaller homes in denser areas and from homeownership to renting [as] a key element of the longer-run reset of the economy. “

I am part of that cohort. Now, I’m an early-generation Millenial, having been born in ’85. Some would argue that I’m not even a Millenial. Rather, I’m Gen Y. But I’m still facing the same realities.

An aging Boomer population still holding onto their jobs because they have either not saved enough for retirement, had their savings implode during the Great Recession, or both.

Debt accumulated through university and my spending habits in my early twenties.

Emerging out of a cocoon of indecision, uncertainty, anxiety and a lack of self-awareness.

The numbers. The numbers don’t lie. You can’t just switch them out for different numbers when you don’t like them. They either work out in your favour, or they do not. The numbers are only numbers until you put the words in front of them. Then they carry meaning. I carry lots of numbers and the burden is heavy.

Going into finance does not make me different from you. In fact, I did it because I know there are a lot of people like me out there. And, as a good friend once told me, you cannot help others if you cannot help yourself.

They say do what you love and the money will follow. I say do what you love, but also do what needs to be done, and the money will follow. What do you need to do?

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

