Eighteen Years

Last November I wrote down a new set of goals for my thirties. A lot has changed in my life in the short amount of time between that day in November and today.

Here are the goals I wrote down:

Goals for the next ten years

  • Pay off my debts and build my wealth
  • Finish both novels
  • Make a baby
  • Grow a garden
  • Visit my family in Poland
  • Write and record an album

I’m happy to report that I’m actually going to scrub one off the list before my thirtieth birthday. I’m going to Poland in a few weeks. It’s been eighteen years since I last visited. This trip means a lot to me for more than just that reason, though. This is a new chapter in my life, one that I hope brings me peace and a better understanding of my history. Never having been in my country of origin since childhood means that I don’t know what it means to be Polish anymore. I can speak the language, but poorly. My reading level is subpar. My writing is even worse. The history of my people, but related and ancestral, is a big question mark in my head and frankly this is a pretty good time to go exploring.

Life here has taken a wrong turn and I’m using this opportunity to get me back on the right track. I ended my long term relationship a few weeks ago. Now I’m packing my life into storage boxes and in a few weeks I’m going to be digging through my family history to better understand who I am. I can’t ask for a better opportunity at this juncture.

And, even better, I get to take something off my bucket list from above. That’s something I wasn’t expecting (cause I completely forgot about it up until this point.) Stay tuned…

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

