Settling Into Nałęczów

Staying with my aunt and uncle outside of Nałęczów has been peaceful for the most part. The biggest issue thus far has been a couple of bad thunderstorms (one that knocked the power out right as we arrived) and throwing a dog toy too high and watching it land in the branches of a very tall tree. Thankfully my uncle has a tall ladder and was able to rescue Misiu’s toy (more about the dog later).

As for me, I have been doing my best to catch up on client work, read a lot, write a lot, and rediscover my love for photography. I’ve been taking pictures more or less every day and I’d like to share a few of them with you. I’ve been experimenting with black and white composition because I really like the look of it.

DSC_6578

DSC_6579

DSC_6581

DSC_6587

DSC_6595

DSC_6604

DSC_6606

I have had more fresh-picked fruit in Nałęczów than anywhere else in a long, long time. Plums, sour cherries, apples, raspberries — the bounty of Poland’s fertile countryside is not lost on me.

Then there’s this special character.

DSC_6598

DSC_6592

DSC_6570

Misiu (Polish for Teddy Bear) is one and a half years old, very smart, and full of energy and joy. He’s not exactly the world’s greatest guard dog, but he sure looks like he could take anyone on if they tried to break in. Or steal his toys. Boy, does he love his toys. And he refuses to listen to me when I give him a command, mostly because I’m way lower on the totem than he is thanks to my complete inability to act as an alpha around him. My curse means more cuddles for me, though. That’s a win-win in my book.

Tagged: ,

One thought on “Settling Into Nałęczów

  1. Kathy August 2, 2015 at 6:42 pm Reply

    Beautiful B&W’s! Love the strong contrast in the conversion sis.

Leave a Reply

