Meaningful Work

DSC_7438
Music and guitar stand built by my father. Picture of my father and mother in the bookcase.

Every thing I’ve strived to do professionally has tried to solve a question that I ask myself internally – will this help someone? I approach my projects and tasks with that question in mind. Sometimes it’s clear, sometimes not right away.

In 2016 my dear friend Alex connected me with Century Estate Services, whose business is to find meaningful homes for people’s belongings. It answered that question wtih a resounding yes. And, in turn, the work helped me. I didn’t clue in at the time that this may be the work that I need to do to come to terms with so much of what’s happened in my life since 2013.

Belongings. Possessions. Earthly remains. Funny how a word that just means stuff can have so many connotations to it.

They all somehow convey that you are gone but they stay here. Just like the people you leave behind.

At least there are people who provide stewardship for your possessions when you do go. Family. Friends. Executors. Estate trustees. Auction houses. The latter may be more formal, but they are still made of people who, in some shape or form, want to help.

I’ve been writing for Urbanicity magazine since August 2016. I’ve written about small businesses, social media etiquette, and stories about Hamilton’s revival. This month’s article is more dear to my heart than all of them.

I hope you enjoy Shedding Possessions.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.